This is the imported user page of user PeterW on All contributions that this user had made on Wikitravel up until August 2012 were imported. The imported revisions of this contributor are labelled as "(WT-en) PeterW".
Read more about the Migration from Wikitravel.

June 13 2006

I am not a huge contributor but I will cease all actvities on this site until I have processed all the information about Wikivoyage having been sold to a company[1] (!), and then I will decide whether I continue.

What information I have contributed, specifically on Malta is stuff that I'm convinced has real value above what is already out there and readily available. I have been in an unusual position to get to know about Malta which few other tourists visiting the island have had; the Maltese ofcourse also will have some of the same info but not the objective attitude and comparative knowledge of other Mediterrannean holiday destinations. I have voluntarily contributed this info thinking that I was giving it to a community of travellers rather than a commercial venture.

I have still a lot which I could add, but the idea that any additions now contribute to the value of a product that some anonymous bunch of businessmen will be getting richer off really puts me off. This is why I also decided in the beginning not to contribute to World66, and I'm convinced that this is the same for many others. This is what made wikivoyage grow and get a lot of people wanting to cooperate and put energy into it.

Regardless of what I think of going commercial I as of yet also don't understand why the founders didn't go commercial on their own, I'm certain that the contributors would've had more faith with them at the helm of a small company with a single core activity, namely this site.

(WT-en) PeterW 04:47, 13 June 2006 (EDT)


(Copypasted from elsewhere, I know it's lazy but hey, better than nothing)

[[Image:DSC00008.JPG|thumb|Me slightly tipsy on the terrace outside Los Pilones, Amsterdam.]]

Babel user information
en-N This user has a native understanding of English.
nl-N Deze gebruiker heeft het Nederlands als moedertaal.
de-2 Dieser Benutzer beherrscht Deutsch auf fortgeschrittenem Niveau.
fr-1 Cet utilisateur dispose de connaissances de base en français.
Users by language

Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Date of Birth: 8.7.1978

Occupation: IT, part time student political science

Profile Summary: I grew up all over the place (see below) and am in that sense a real TCK (I sometimes need subtitles when I think..), and as such what better place than Amsterdam to live in, this relatively tiny place (800,000 people) is as cosmopolitan as many places many times larger.

Languages spoken: English, Dutch, German, some French

Travel experience: Born in Lebanon, lived there and in Australia, Germany and Sweden as a kid. Visited most of western Europe, some Middle East, some south Asia, across the atlantic only New England.

Planned trips: Nothing outside Europe for the moment due to lack of time and funds.

Wikipedia contributions: Visited Malta a lot as my parents live there right now, so I'm still working on adding as much as possible there. Also am working on some stuff for the Amsterdam article.