This is the imported user page of user Aine Hickey, Pinkfluffybrick on All contributions that this user had made on Wikitravel up until August 2012 were imported. The imported revisions of this contributor are labelled as "(WT-en) Pinkfluffybrick".
Read more about the Migration from Wikitravel.
Babel user information
en-N This user has a native understanding of English.
nl-1 Deze gebruiker heeft elementaire kennis van het Nederlands.
Users by language

About Me

Hi, My name is Áine Hickey. I'm Irish. I love travelling - learning about new people, experiencing new cultures, eating new food and of course, trying all the local beer. I am presently lucky enough to be unemployed and homeless, as I am travelling around the world with my boyfriend.

Current Projects

  • Kilkenny - My home town. I've done a lot of work on this page, trying to make it as good a I can. I've also done some work on County Kilkenny and some of the towns in it.
  • Gouda - When I live now. This page is very basic, so give me some time...

I also plan on sticking some photos in for town near me where I live, once I get a chance to visit them.


I know a fair bit about Kilkenny and am learning more about Gouda everyday. If you have any questions, leave me a note on my talk page or send me an email. I'll try to help.

My Travels

[[Image:WhereIveBeenMap_Pinkfluffybrick.png|thumb|300px|Places I've been marked in red]]

I'm from Ireland. Before I caught the travel bug, I'd only been to nearby places - UK (England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland) and France.

Inter railing

In 2002, I went inter railing to The Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Germany, Switzerland, France, Monaco, Spain and Italy.

Southern Africa

Picture of me

In 2007, I did a trip around Southern Africa. I travelled to South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, and Zimbabwe.

Overland To India and Through South East Asia to Australia

My biggest adventure so far was travelling for 15 months. Myself and my boyfriend travelled over land to India, then through South East Asia to Australia.

We started off in The Netherlands where we live. We spent a few days in Copenhagen, and Stockholm on our way to Norway. We spent three weeks there, travelling up to Nordkapp and on to Russia. We spent a month in Russia, making our way to Mongolia. We travelled for 20 days around the beautiful country side there, and another 10 days in UB sorting our visas and relaxing.

Next stop, China. We arrived just after the Olympics. We spend a few weeks in the North, travelling from Beijing through Datong, Pingyao, Xian to Xining. Here we organised a trip through Tibet to Nepal. We spent one and a half months there, before heading to India. We covered all this overland.

After two months in India we took our first flight to Hong Kong. We loved China so much, we wanted to go back. We went to Macau, then spent another 1 1/2 months in China. We then visited South East Asia - Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Malaysia and Singapore.

Our final stop, was Australia. We spent 3 months here. We bought a car in Perth and drove up the West Coast, down to the Centre, and then down the East Coast to Melbourne.

Other Places

Israel - I had to travel to Tel Aviv for work. I got some time off to visit Jerusalem.

Morocco - I've been here twice. First time was a day trip to Tangier. Second time, I spent four days in Casablanca.

USA - I been here a few times. I lived in New Haven, Connecticut for a summer during college. I travelled around that area, including Boston and New York. I spent 3 weeks in Dallas, 3 weeks driving around Southern California, and have been skiing in Denver.

I've also been to Austria, Czech Republic, Gibraltar, Mexico.

My Photos

Here are some of my favourite photos that I've uploaded to wikivoyage.

Yungang Caves, Dantong, China
Rock Carvings, Alta, Norway
Shuanglin Si Temple, outside Pingyao, China
Tianluokeng Tulou Cluster, Yongding Country, China
Lovely fish, Kep, Cambodia
Zebras in Etosha National Park, Nambia

More Info

You can check out more photos on our Picasaweb album or our blog, but this doesn't work in China.

This is the imported user page of a user from pre-Wikimedia Wikivoyage or Wikitravel, who did not opt-in to the transfer of their data. All contributions that this user had made on pre-Wikimedia Wikivoyage or Wikitravel before August 2012 were imported. The imported revisions of this contributor are prefixed with "(WV-en)", or "(WT-en)" respectively.